Close this search box.

BAFTA Awards 2024

BAFTA Film Awards 2024, were announced in  the Royal Festival Hall London, on Sunday 18 February 2024,  the awards evening was  hosted by David Tennant. the Awards event was broadcast and streamed live on BBC One and iPlayer in the United Kingdom, and on BritBox International in Canada, Denmark, Finland, Norway, South Africa, Sweden and the United States; due to the significant time difference, Australia- grounded BritBox subscribers were suitable to watch the awards on- demand.

The triad of Barbie, Killers of the Flower Moon, and Oppenheimer led the long lists, tying with fifteen nods each; this haul of fifteen long list mentions equalled the record held by the former time’s All Quiet on the Western Front. The fantasy comedy Barbie underperformed, only entering five nominations, and without nods for Best Film and Best Director (Greta Gerwig). 

Another notable elision was Lily Gladstone for Best Actress in a Leading part for her depiction of Mollie Burkhart in “Killers of the Flower Moon” the “rebuff” irked numerous suckers, who took to social media to express their confusion and frustration.

Also, the artistic miracle of” Barbenheimer” entered a aggregate of eighteen nominations five for Barbie and thirteen for Oppenheimer; the two flicks contended against each other in three orders. English songster and tunesmith Sophie Ellis – Bextor performed her 2001 map – crusher ” Murder on the Dance floor”, most lately known as the concluding viral song from the five- time BAFTA- nominated film Salt burn.

Also, British actress and TV presenter Hannah Waddingham delivered an exclusive music performance of the Cyndi Lauper song” Time After Time” during the” In Memoriam” member. BAFTA chairman Prince William attended the form, but, unlike last time, his woman, Catherine, did not, as she was recovering from abdominal surgery; he met the order winners and BAFTA Rising Star Award appointees following the awards form.

Also, the BAFTA Awards didn’t stream the final four orders live this time; they rather were broadcast as- live on the BBC with a two- hour detention along with the rest of the awards. The three- hour form was edited down by an hour to make for a 120- nanosecond runtime. Last time, the show ran with its usual two- hour detention, but the final four orders were broadcast live.

Last time we went live. We are not going to be doing that this time. We tried it. It was good at the time, but it did not add any further than what we demanded.” While patron Emma Thomas was accepting the award for Best Film, Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven and Cillian Murphy walked together onto the stage to collect the award. As Thomas was handed the award from Fox, Lizwani nonchalantly entered from the contrary side of the venue and ran onstage.

Many follower ship members and observers noticed him as he quietly stood between Murphy and Roven while Thomas gave her acceptance speech. He was soon restrained by security officers after he walked offstage with the film’s platoon. A BAFTA prophet published a statement following the form” A social media prankster was removed by security last night after joining the winners of the final award on stage we’re taking this veritably seriously, and do not wish to grant him any hype by opining further.”

Oppenheimer which won seven BAFTAs are 

1) Best Film

2) Best Director: Christopher Nolan

3) Best Leading Actor :Cillian Murphy

4) Best Supporting Actor : Robert Downey Jr.
5) Best Cinematography;
6) Best Editing, and
7) Best Original Score.
Poor Things won best five BAFTAs:
1) Best Actress: Emma Stone
2) Best Costume,
3) Best Make Up & Hair
4) Best Production Design and
5) Best Special Visual Effects.
The Zone of Interest won three BAFTAs
1) Best Outstanding British Film
2) Best Film Non English Language
3) And Best Sound 
The Holdovers won in two Best awards
1) Best Supporting Actress : Da’Vine Joy Randolph
2) and   Best Casting.

Best Outstanding Debut won by Earth Mama.

BAFTA Fellowship was awarded to Samantha Morton .

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema Award was awarded to June Givanni 

 The Rising Star Award went to Mia McKenna-Bruce

Best Original Screenplay went to Anatomy of a Fall won

American Fiction given Best  Adapted Screenplay.

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer went to Earth Mama.

Best Documentary given to 20 Days in Mariupol.

Best Animated Film went to The Boy and the Heron

Best British Short Film awarded Jellyfish and Lobster.

Crab Baby won best BAFTA for British Short Animation.

The special performances were given by Sophie Ellis-Bextor of Murder on the Dance floor, and Solo performance by Hannah Waddingham.




Christopher Nolan receiving Best Director Award for Oppenheimer.

Robert Downey Jr. receiving Best Supporting Actor Award of Oppenheimer.

Share the Post:

Related Posts

Marilyn Monroe

Image courtesy: Art Context Norma Jeane Mortenson, known to the world as Marilyn Monroe, was born on June 1, 1926,

Read More
Scroll to Top